And Then I Woke Up…

I have been thinking a lot about how I haven’t written anything in so long recently. The thing is, I didn’t have anything to talk about, or so I thought. It has been a year since Ferguson happened. It seems much longer than a year, yet so recent at the same time. There has been plenty of deaths that have occurred as well, and it is terribly upsetting that those responsible for the deaths have been able to live their lives comfortably.

On almost every form of social media I have seen, I have seen #BlackLivesMatter and #AllLivesMatter. While some say that #AllLivesMatter came about to silence the outcries of my fellow Americans. Whether or not that is true, I do know one thing: People Matter.

I recently heard about 19-year-old Zachary Hammond. I found out days later about his death, and I was shocked that I had not heard about it sooner. If everyone that had been behind #AllLivesMatter, why had I not heard about this young man’s death? Why did they think that this boy didn’t deserve an outcry? Was it because he was white? Was it because of marijuana?

No; it was because people decide who is worth being cared about. Who are we to decide whether this person’s death is more significant than another? It is those same people that decide that if we don’t look a certain way that we are worthless.

If there is one thing that this world needs to realize is that PEOPLE MATTER, no matter what they look like, regardless if they are black, white, a size 2, or a size 44.

I understand that people don’t have the same beliefs as I do, but the one thing that we should be able to agree on is that people have worth, and that they matter. I find it hard to believe that in the depths of someone’s heart they do not think that any given person has infinite worth.

But Becky, what if they’re like Hitler, or a terrorist or something? I am glad you brought that up. They still matter. Am I excusing them for their deeds? By no means. But life matters. As a Christian, I believe that God crafted each person individually, and He has given them infinite worth. While we can do wrong and dreadful things, that doesn’t change the fact that each person has value, indescribable worth, and matters.

The body of Christ (myself included) should be mourning every time a person is murdered or killed. We should reach out to the family/families affected. We should pray for the killers. The killers? Yes, because as horrible as their deed may be, they matter too.

I am not saying that any of that is easy. We have our own problems, our own demons to deal with, but we must realize that we need to live outside of ourselves. Failure to do so will only lead to our demise.

Stand with me in showing that truly #AllLivesMatter because #PeopleMatter. Mourn the losses. Pray for the killers. Stand by the families. Love others. Know that YOU have worth.

With so much love and tight hugs,
Becky Espinoza

Got something to say? Post it!

